Citizen Soldier

Music | Choose one music option

Second Essay for Orchestra, Op. 17 — 11 min.
Symphony No. 3: I. Molto moderato — 10 min.
"Leningrad" Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60: III. Adagio — 18 min.
Symphony No. 5 in D Major: III. Romanza — 13 min.

Sample music | via SoundCloud

Description |

Citizen Soldier commemorates the ongoing 75th anniversary of World War II. The period from 1939 to 1945 was a time of struggle, sacrifice, and unprecedented economic, industrial, and human mobilization that blurred many distinctions between military and civilian life. Created with archival WWII photography from over a dozen countries, this concert piece reflects on some of the men and women from the international mix of more than 100 million everyday people who participated in history’s most widespread conflict.

Consider programming this piece alongside No Man’s Land, the optional WWI companion piece. It commemorates the ongoing 100th anniversary of WWI and has four additional music options.

Format |
Live music + multiple digital projectors + 440-square-foot screen + 100s of historical images choreographed by our artist
Premiere |
Canton Symphony Orchestra (Copland version), Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra (Vaughan Williams version), The Phoenix Symphony (Barber version)
Pairs well with |
No Man's Land, The Eternal Struggle, National Park Suite

Citizen Soldier