Czech Journeys

Music | Choose one music option

Serenade for Strings, Op. 22 — 30 min.
Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, Op. 70, B. 141 — 38 min.
At Twilight, Op. 39 — 16 min.
Má vlast
Select 1, 2 or 3 symphonic poems:
I. Vyšehrad — 14 min.
II. The Moldau — 12 min.
IV. From Bohemia's Woods and Fields — 12 min.

Sample music | via SoundCloud

Description |

Smetana and Dvořák’s famed Czech homeland has a fiery history, but today it is characterized by rolling Bohemian countryside, wine-sipping Moravian charm and the Old World–magic of Prague—the City of 100 Spires. From dramatic castles and red-roofed villages to the legendary Moldau river, Czech Journeys is a multilayered cultural exploration of the Czech Republic paired with music inspired by its beauty.

Format |
Live music + multiple digital projectors + 440-square-foot screen + 100s of images choreographed by our artist
Premiere |
Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Toronto Symphony Orchestra (commissioning orchestras), Acadiana Symphony Orchestra (Moldau version), Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra (Má vlast 3-mvt. version)
Pairs well with |
Mágico, Sagaland, Woodlands

Czech Journeys